For holders of diplomatic and official passports:

Visa is not required for stays of up to 90 days

For holders of national passports and other travel documents:

Visa is not required for stays of up to 30 days


Visa is not required for holders of an emergency travel document in transit


Citizens of the Republic of Serbia (regardless of the type of travel documents or regulated stay in Russia) may enter the Russian Federation with a negative PCR test result (in Russian or English language), not older than 72 hours from the date of taking the swab.
If a foreign citizen does not possess a negative PCR test before landing at the airport in Russia, he/she will be automatically deported back to the country of departure.
Citizens of the Republic of Serbia may enter Russia by plane, via direct flight or from other countries with which the Russian Federation has renewed direct flights, provided that they have a regulated stay in that country (temporary stay, permanent residence, etc).
Russia has direct flights with following countries:
1.Austria 2. Azerbaijan 3. Belgium 4. Bulgaria 5. United Kingdom 6. Venezuela 7. Vietnam 8. Greece 9. Egypt 10. Ethiopia 11. India 12. Ireland 13. Iceland 14. Italy 15. Japan 16. Armenia 17 .Jordan 18. Kazakhstan 19. Qatar 20. Cyprus 21. Kyrgyzstan 22. Republic of Korea 23. Cuba 24. Lebanon 25. Luxembourg 26. Hungary 27. Maldives 28. Malta 29. Morocco 30. Mauritius 31. Mexico 32. Germany 33. Portugal 34. Saudi Arabia 35. Northern Macedonia 36. USA 37. Seychelles 38. Singapore 39. Syria 40. Tajikistan 41. Turkey 42. United Arab Emirates 43. Uzbekistan 44. Finland 45. Croatia 46. Switzerland 47. Sri Lanka 48. France 49. Czech Republic, Moldovia 51. Bahrein 52. Dominican Republic 53. Albania 54. Belarus 55. Spain 56. Slovakia 57. Kenya 58. Iraq 59. Denmark 60. Peru 61. Djibouti 62. South Africa 63. New Zealand 64. Tanzania 65. China 66. Liechtenstein 67. Kuwait 68. Andorra 69. Columbia 70. Bahamas 71. Iran 72. Netherlands 73. Norway 74. Oman 75. Slovenia 76. Thailand 77. Tunisia 78. Bangladesh 79. Brazil 80. Mongolia 81. Costa Rica 82. Argentina 83. Sweden.
If travelling to Russia from Belgrade, transit through abovementioned countries is not allowed (except for holders of diplomatic and official passports of the Republic of Serbia).
Exiting Russia is possible through mentioned countries in transit, if it is allowed by an operating airline company.
Land borders are closed, except for vehicles with CMR and TIR labels, as well as persons that receive a special permit issued the Russian crises staff.



Serbian citizens are not required to have a visa for a stay of up to 30 days, including the day of entering/leaving the Russian Federation. Upon entering the country, it is mandatory to fill in the migration card. It should be kept all the time and returned to the border officer when leaving the country. Upon arrival, travellers must register their stay within 7 working days. For travel purposes, the passport must be valid for at least another 6 months, and for the regulation of stay in the Russian Federation at least a year and a half.

Regardless of whether they have a visa or not, or whether they have a temporary or permanent residence permit, foreigners (including Serbian citizens) may enter the territory of the Russian Federation from the Republic of Belarus by road only through the international border crossing point of Novye Yurkovichi, the so-called “Three Sisters” (at the Russia―Belarus―Ukraine tripoint). This rule does not apply to drivers of TIR lorries.

If the Russian Federation is entered for the purpose of employment, education, professional training or medical treatment for a period longer than 30 days, it is necessary to obtain a visa at the Embassy of the Russian Federation in Belgrade. From 16 February 2015, visa applications are submitted through the website:

Regardless of the reason of travel or the type of the visa regime, foreigners are required to adhere strictly to terms and conditions of permitted stay in the Russian Federation. Competent Russian authorities will otherwise deny leaving the country by initiating an administrative misdemeanour procedure and imposing a fine (of up to 5,000 roubles). Border and migration authorities will then enter the offender’s data into the relevant register and impose a ban on entering the Russian Federation for up to 5 years.

Travellers are advised to have a health insurance certificate/card and a certain amount of money. When entering the country, travellers should declare amounts of money exceeding 10,000 American dollars and technical goods.



A bilateral agreement on social security was signed in 2019. The agreement enables the calculation of and/or adding the pensionable service earned in the Republic of Serbia and/or the Russian Federation. It regulates the right to payment of benefits based on old-age, disability and survivor’s pensions, payment of compensation in case of work-related injuries and/or occupational diseases and funeral costs in the country of residence of citizens of the Contracting Parties.



HEALTH SITUATION — Vaccination is not required before entering this country. Only bottled or filtered tap water should be drunk.

SECURITY SITUATION — The security situation is stable, although the Russian security authorities have enhanced security checks and strengthened their measures and activities. Police presence is strong at metro stations and airports, on roads and railroads, and at locations most visited by tourists, including shopping malls.

TRANSPORT — The Russian Federation has well-developed road, rail and air traffic networks. Transport hubs are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi and Yekaterinburg.
The most important airports are: Sheremetyevo, Vnukovo and Domodedovo (Moscow), Pulkovo (St. Petersburg) and Adler (Sochi). There are many flights operated on a daily basis to and from all over the world, as well as a large number of domestic flights.

As traffic jams are huge, visitors are advised to use the metro and to download mobile applications to navigate around the city more easily and to use public transport. Downloading taxi applications (Yandex Go, Rutaxi, City) are also useful as they show fixed amounts of transport costs.

During a tourist stay in the Russian Federation, Serbian citizens may operate motor vehicles with a national (Serbian) driver’s licence, if translated into the Russian language by a certified court interpreter, or with an international driving permit, in accordance with the Vienna Convention on Road Traffic (concluded on 8 November 1968). In case of regulated permanent residence (Вид на жительство), the national (Serbian) driver’s licence ceases to be valid 60 days from the date of obtaining the residence permit and can be exchanged for a Russian one in accordance with the Russian legislation.

OTHER INFORMATION — The national currency is the rouble (RUB). Payments can be effected with all types of credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, etc.) or in cash in the national currency. Currencies can be exchanged in exchange offices, banks or using ATMs.

The quality of accommodation and cost of services vary to a great extent. An overnight stay in an average hotel in Moscow is 150 euros. There are chains of both domestic and international hotels and restaurants; the offer of cultural events is rich and varied, but services are costly. Shopping malls and stores are open seven days a week, from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.


Contact information:

For consular assistance and protection while in the Russian Federation, you may contact the Embassy of the Republic of Serbia in Moscow at the telephone number: 00 7495 988 66 45, and e-mail address: and